Current Board Members

The Area 1 board members are here to provide organization and direction to advance the musical art of handbell/handchime ringing through education, community, and communication. If you have any Area 1 business, ideas for festivals or workshops or questions about handbells in general we are happy to help in any way we can.  The board members are listed below for ease of contact.  For business related to your state, feel free to contact your state chair.

 

Executive Committee (Elected Positions)

Chair Lisa Arnold
chair.area1@handbellmusicians.org
Chair-Elect Joy Toll-Chandler
chairelect.area1@handbellmusicians.org
Past Chair Carlene Ruesenberg
pastchair.area1@handbellmusicians.org
Secretary Diane Burke
secretary.area1@handbellmusicians.org
Treasurer Cheryl Harger  (Matthew Sczurek begins Sept 1)
treasurer.area1@handbellmusicians.org

Appointed Officers

Connecticut State Chair Bridget Scarlato
ct.area1@handbellmusicians.org
Maine State Chair Sue Evans
me.area1@handbellmusicians.org
Massachusetts State Chair Abby Schoppe
ma.area1@handbellmusicians.org
New Hampshire State Chair Hilary Justice / Heidi Prior (Co-Chairs
nh.area1@handbellmusicians.org
Rhode Island State Chair Donna Horan
ri.area1@handbellmusicians.org
Vermont State Chair Pat Pranger
vt.area1@handbellmusicians.org
Membership Chair
Workshop Coordinator
Emlee Kohler
membership.area1@handbellmusicians.org
Education Liaison Kristen Russo
educationliaison.area1@handbellmusicians.org

Standing Committee Chairs + Ex-Officio Positions

Festival/Conference 2021 Chair* Carlene Reusenberg
events.area1@handbellmusicians.org
Chime Loaner Program* Jennifer Stack
chimeloaner.area1@handbellmusicians.org
Communications Director* Amy Rollins
communications.area1@handbellmusicians.org
Newsletter Editor* Donna Horan
editor.area1@handbellmusicians.org
Historian/Archivist* Susan Schultz
historian.area1@handbellmusicians.org
Registrar* Susan Schultz
registrar.area1@handbellmusicians.org
Scholarships* Jean Degan
scholarship.area1@handbellmusicians.org
Webmaster* Peter Larson
webmaster.area1@handbellmusicians.org

Asterisk (*) indicates that this position is not a voting member of the board of directors. Per by-laws, these positions report to the chair elect, and must be members of the Handbell Musicians of America.