Current Board Members

The Area 1 board members are here to provide organization and direction to advance the musical art of handbell/handchime ringing through education, community, and communication. If you have any Area 1 business, ideas for festivals or workshops or questions about handbells in general we are happy to help in any way we can.  The board members are listed below for ease of contact.  For business related to your state, feel free to contact your state chair.


Executive Committee (Elected Positions)

Chair Carlene Ruesenberg
Chair-Elect Lisa Arnold
Past Chair Krishna Ersson
Secretary Diane Burke
Treasurer Cheryl Harger

Appointed Officers

Connecticut State Chair Mobby Larson (Until May 1, 2019)

Bridget Scarlato (Effective May 1, 2019)

Maine State Chair Sue Evans
Massachusetts State Chair Sue Lee
New Hampshire State Chair Joan Fossum
Rhode Island State Chair Donna Horan
Vermont State Chair Pat Pranger
Membership Chair
Workshop Coordinator
Jane Nolan
Education Liaison Kristen Russo

Standing Committee Chairs + Ex-Officio Positions

Festival/Conference 2019 Chair* Krishna Ersson
Chime Loaner Program* Holly Cerullo
Communications Director* Amy Rollins
Newsletter Editor* Donna Horan
Historian/Archivist* Susan Schultz
Registrar* Susan Schultz
The Glove Tree* Emlee Kohler
Scholarships* Jean Degan
Webmaster* Peter Larson

Asterisk (*) indicates that this position is not a voting member of the board of directors. Per by-laws, these positions report to the chair elect, and must be members of the Handbell Musicians of America.